Gelatin is a protein found within the skin, tendons, ligaments, and/or bones of pigs or cows. Gelatin can be found in an assortment of products and food including shampoos, cosmetics, and puddings. It can also be found in vitamin supplement coatings or capsules. Canvita’s vitamins do not contain gelatin.
Why do Certain Religious Practices Not Eat Pork?
In a diverse range of religious practices, gelatin is prohibited. This is due to the source of gelatin more often than not, coming from pigs.
Common foods that may contain gelatin/pork include:
Certain ice cream brands
Why do Some Vitamins Have Gelatin?
Gelatin is a common protein to include in vitamins. Certain vitamins have gelatin because they can create the ideal capsule for vitamins. These gelatin capsules have no smell, taste, and can be easy to swallow. In addition, gelatin capsules are considered safe due to often exceeding many different regulations.
Many gummy vitamins also common gelatin, added as a thickening agent. Canvita’s vitamins however are vegan certified and do not contain gelatin. This means that the vitamins were made from pectin, which is natural and comes from fruit. This is especially beneficial for those looking for a kosher or halal diet.
Check out our vitamins for a range of different options if you’re looking for gelatin-free vitamins! We fully believe it’s important that everyone’s diverse needs are met and there are options for everyone to receive optimal health!